From hero to zero

Last Sunday night I watched a movie. Hero was played on TV. Since I had never seen the movie before, I was really waiting for it. I became so determined after saw its trailer which was looked so thrilling. Driven by the desire of watching a good movie, I made a promise to myself that I would never, ever miss this one.

I have never had any mandarin movie as my favorite. Up until now, my insight into mandarin movies is limited on: Crouching Tiger, The Last Emperor, Farewell my Concubine, House of Flying Daggers, and Xiu Xiu. As a matter of fact, I didn’t know there is a HK movie named “Hero” until a friend of mine mentioned it once in our little chat couple of weeks before. She didn’t say either it’s good or bad. I even couldn’t recall any reason of why the movie came to be our topic. But from that ” a bit of this and that ” chat, I remember one word: hero.

So, there I was. Sitting before the glass, waiting so faithfully. Hero would be played on 10.30 pm and my emotion was getting mixed between curious and hoping.

The first scene was quite impressive. Some horse riders moved fast across a desert. They all were black: the riders and their horses. And how their color matched with grayish sandy background was surprising to me. At first.

Along it played I then found out that I got nothing but fantastic colorful pictures. I even saw a scene where all elements were dominated by one color: orange. Then it changed to red. Then it changed back to orange. Ouch, my eyes were hurt!

Okay, let’s say that this movie has many beautiful pictures. But to me, none of those pictures looks natural, neither its colors nor sets. Pictures I saw in Hero are different with pictures in Crouching Tiger Hidden dragon, for example. Both are dramatical. But there is a big difference between them. Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon is dramatical while Hero is over-dramatized. What fascinated me at the first start was finally making me sick.

With minimal context, poor story and lack of dynamics, Hero is like a beautiful girl with no brain and too much make-ups.

And I regret sacrificing my time only to watch a pointless movie.

Don’t judge the book by its cover, people said. But in my case, I have to say don’t ever judge the movie by its trailer. Overall, hero is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I don’t care what other people think but honestly, I can’t see what is so good about it. Watching it was nothing more than wasting my precious and useful sleeping time.

Well, at least my insight of Mandarin movies has widened…

a bit…

a very little bit.

